Carrot Kheer

Happy Valentine’s Day to all of you!!

Carrot Kheer

 

I know, traditionally, a chocolate cake or a similar thing goes well for a V-day and you must be thinking, I am celebrating this in quite a desi way but, I have lots of apprehensions for baking after I have spoilt a carrot cake and a plain vanilla cake recently. So, I decided for a carrot kheer. (kheer is a safe bet, isn’t it?) I had good amount of milk in fridge and some grated carrots handy. So utilized them to the fullest. And, after all, if you are planning to impress your spouse (or rather, make happy, now this sounds like an old couple, apt. for me) with culinary ways on V-day (rather on any day), it should go according to his taste, right? yeah. So a kheer (or custard or halwa) is a better option for me Open-mouthed smile

Rice-kheer is just too festive and a regular sweet. So, I decided for carrot-kheer, a healthier and a newer version, which I read in a Hindi daily.

Gajar ki Kheer

Time: 45 mins

Serves: 4-5 regular bowls

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup grated carrot
  • 1.2 liters full cream milk (feel free to use skimmed milk)
  • 4.5 tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tbsp. ghee / clarified butter
  • handful of finely chopped mixed nuts like pista, cashews and almonds
  • 1 tsp. cardamom powder

Preparation:

  • Boil the milk in a heavy bottom pan. Meanwhile, heat ghee in a pan/wok and add grated carrots to it. Roast for 4-5 minutes.
  • After the milk reduces to 2/3rd of its quantity, add the fried carrots and stir well. Keep stirring in between so that carrots do not stick to the pan. Add sugar after 5 minutes and mix well. Keep stirring in between. After 5 mins, add cardamom powder and switch off the flame. Add the dry fruits now to keep the crunch intact.
  • Serve you valentine Smile and Relish!!

Notes:

I did not reduce the milk a lot for the sake of nutrition. You can bravely do so.

The sugar was a bit on higher side. I completely forgot that carrots will impart their own sweetness to the kheer. (that is the reason of odd amount of sugar I mentioned– 4.5 Tbsp. Smile )

I lightly fried the grated carrots in ghee to soften them for my daughter. You can skip this and maintain a crunch. Apparently, she has no issues with crunchy nuts Smile. (Kids are also manipulative! at times)

Kheer with carrot

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Kheer in the earthen pot…double like!! I could feel its creamy rich coldness!!!

    Reply
  2. The kheer looks delicious, thanks Rashmi for stopping by my space and also pointing out about the search gadget, I’ve posted in the google forums, yet to rectify it..

    Reply
  3. Hi dear, you left a comment on my blog with “mathari” related question. Whether you use whole wheat or maida, the ingredients will be same. Please follow my simple mathari or masala mathari recipes and it will come out great. Thanks for wishing to try and sorry for the delay in response.

    Reply
    • yeah, i did prepare the atta mathri and they came out really crisp and tasty. I plan to post the pics soon. Thanks for the reply.

      Hugs 🙂

      Reply
  4. Manu Kurup

     /  February 28, 2013

    The earthen pot has added charm to the kheer.
    🙂

    Reply

Thanks reader for investing your valuable time. Feel free to drop your thoughts or queries here.

